Welcome to the Builder Academy

Question Getting started

More
16 Sep 2014 04:38 #5048 by Nethipholos
Getting started was created by Nethipholos
Hi everyone, i'm exremely new to MUD Administration. I've never coded a MUD before, however i've coded plenty of other project, mostly in perl, lua, and sql. However in all of my coding experience (all non-professional) i've never had to compile and then run my code before. I've ran it through checking systems to make sure it's not missing anything, or it's broken, but i've never compiled it into an EXE and ran it before.

Now enough with the rambling, i'm curious as to if anyone can assist me. I've been writting out a story, rooms, classes, races, etc for a text based game for several years now and i think it's about time i put everything i have in paper, to code. I've downloaded several other codebases however i cannnot seem to get any of them to run.

I opperate mainly off a windows 7 machine (cringe if you must) however i'm open to dual booting it, or even using a linux based VM (if possible) to code/compile/test/locally host my MUD. However, i'm clueless as to where i should start or what i'm looking for. Any input would be helpful.

Questions:
1. Is there a stable and customizable 64bit codebase that i can work with, or am i stuck compiling 32bit code?
2. how come everytime i compile codebase (i tend to do a clean compile first without making adjustment, just to see what it is i'm working with) it will never fully load, i've gotten close before with no error messages, however my prompt just shuts down?
3. to "run" a MUD can i just compile it, then run the .exe or does it have to be run in a nother fashion?
4. While it is running, is it possible to make adjustments to the code and test it in real time, or would i have to adjust, recompile, test, adjust, recompile, test, etc?