Welcome to the Builder Academy

Question Spec Proc on Object/not firing question (new to coding)

More
09 Jun 2016 11:18 - 09 Jun 2016 20:49 #5985 by Barnes
Hello. I'm new to coding. I've been tinkering with the tba code for a month or two and tried my hand at assigning a spec proc to an object the pre trigger/old style way. As far as I know, I have it assigned everywhere correctly and the code compiles for me no warnings. I left out the if (cmd) return FALSE while testing, so that I can see the proc actually works. However, the proc ONLY works when any command is entered, not randomly like the mob specs I've written do. Here is my code, be gentle! Thanks for any feedback.

Also, in order for the object to be the actual caster of a spell, would a secondary procedure for spells need to be written, or is there a way to accomplish this with existing code?
Code:
SPECIAL(spectral) { struct obj_data *find_obj_by_vnum(int vnum); struct obj_data *obj; struct char_data *vict = FIGHTING(ch); int is_wearing = FALSE; if (GET_POS(ch) != POS_FIGHTING) { return FALSE; } obj = ch->equipment[WEAR_NECK_1]; if (obj){ if (obj_index[obj->item_number].vnum == 34707){ is_wearing = TRUE; } } if (! is_wearing) return FALSE; if (ch->in_room != vict->in_room) { if (FIGHTING(ch) && FIGHTING(ch) == vict) stop_fighting(ch); return FALSE; } while (GET_POS(ch) == POS_FIGHTING) { switch (rand_number(0, 5)) { case 0: act("\r\n\t[f330]$p begins pulsing and vibrating!!!\tn\r\n",TRUE,ch,obj,0,TO_CHAR); act("\r\n$p begins pulsing and vibrating!!!!!\r\n",TRUE,ch,obj,0,TO_ROOM); cast_spell(ch, vict, NULL, SPELL_FIREBALL); return TRUE; default: return FALSE;} } return FALSE; }
Last edit: 09 Jun 2016 20:49 by Barnes. Reason: to wrap the code

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jun 2016 19:55 #5986 by thomas
how is this assigned? (and wrap your code in [ code ] tags, please :)

More
09 Jun 2016 20:08 #5988 by Barnes
Ok figure out how to wrap the code.
Code: