Question Help with pets?

• hypoon
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
24 Aug 2020 19:44 - 24 Aug 2020 19:51 #8933 by hypoon
Help with pets? was created by hypoon
Hello all,

I'm new to MUDs and recently started my own instance of tbaMUD. Before making my own customizations, I wanted to understand what features have already been implemented, and how they work. I've been exploring the world as a mortal for the past few days, and I have a few questions. To start, I'm losing my pet every time I leave the MUD. Is this the intended behavior? Am I doing something wrong? Is there a way to reacquire the pet when I return to the MUD?

Thanks!
Last edit: 24 Aug 2020 19:51 by hypoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2020 19:51 - 24 Aug 2020 19:52 #8934 by Opie
Replied by Opie on topic Help with pets?
This is indeed intended behavior. You’ll have to buy a new pet every time.

Pets do not save when you leave the game, I’m afraid. I have seen MUDs in the past changing this, but make pets far more expensive for this reason.

It would require some programming to do this, CircleMUD/tbaMUD does not do this by default.
Last edit: 24 Aug 2020 19:52 by Opie.

• hypoon
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
24 Aug 2020 20:06 #8935 by hypoon
Replied by hypoon on topic Help with pets?
I see, that is unfortunate. Perhaps that will be my first customization. Pets do not seem particularly useful in their current form, so either I'm being rather unimaginative, or this feature feels incomplete. Would tbaMUD welcome such a patch contribution, or is it preferred that such development be kept in separate codebases?

More
24 Aug 2020 20:11 #8936 by Opie
Replied by Opie on topic Help with pets?
You’re welcome to contribute, we can consider adding it to the base code.