Welcome to the Builder Academy

Question How to change the name of Happyhour?

More
06 Mar 2018 03:36 #7650 by Nero
Hi,

I am a beginner coder for Circle Muds. We have a MUD that is already up and running but we want to be able to start implementing and integrating some more stuff to the MUD just to get some new ideas, zones, etc going.

One thing I want to do is add the happyhour feature however, I want to change the syntax from happyhour to bonus. So if someone types bonus, it does the same thing if someone typed happyhour. How would I go about changing that in the code?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Mar 2018 04:41 #7660 by rudeboyrave
the quickest way to do this would be to edit the message shown on the who screen to show the word bonus instead of happy hour when one is going on... in act.informative.c change

if (IS_HAPPYHOUR > 0){
send_to_char(ch, "It's a Happy Hour! Type \tRhappyhour\tW to see the current bonuses.\r\n");
to
if (IS_HAPPYHOUR > 0){
send_to_char(ch, "It's a BONUS!! Type \tRbonus\tW to see the current bonuses.\r\n");

you could also edit interpreter.c and change
{ "happyhour", "ha" , POS_DEAD , do_happyhour, 0, 0 },
to
{ "bonus", "bo" , POS_DEAD , do_happyhour, 0, 0 },

and in act.other.c find do_happyhour and change all the send_to_char 's to say bonus instead of happyhour.

this is the easiest way to do this i think. it changes the look of everything without making all the changes to rename everything bonus from happy.

CyberASSAULT
www.cyberassault.org
cyberassault.org 11111
A post-apocalyptic, sci-fi MUD.

More
10 Mar 2018 23:12 #7688 by Nero
Thanks for your response. For some reason I am having trouble integrating this into my circle mud files. I have everything in the right place but when typing 'happyhour' in the cmd prompt, nothing happens it gives me no dialogue at all just says, huh!?!.